Illinois Ges Tougher DUI Law
MADD scores a round in Illinois. As a result of their efforts, first time DUI offenders will have 14 days to install a "breath-alcohol ignition-interlock device" in the dashboard of their car.
With the device, if a driver has a blood-alcohol content above 0.024, the engine won't start....Drivers who register a 0.08 or higher blood-alcohol level at the time of their arrest will be required to drive with the monitoring devices for five months. Drivers who refuse alcohol testing but are convicted must use the devices for 11 months.
....The gadgets also will require drivers be tested periodically while the car is running. Drivers will have to blow into the device again within the first 5 to 15 minutes of a trip, then at least twice every hour.
|< Sam Waksal's 9 Month Sentence Cut | Suggestive Photo Array Leads to Wrongful Conviction >|